OPPO has listed the OPPO Pad 5 Matte Display Edition, a tablet variant built around a 12.1-inch anti-glare matte display. The tablet has a 2,800 × 1,980-pixel panel, a maximum 120Hz refresh rate, support for the OPPO Pencil 2R and AI-assisted reading, writing and recording features.

The company also lists a 10,050mAh typical-equivalent battery, 33W SUPERVOOC charging and ColorOS 16 for Pad. OPPO’s product page does not state a price, launch date or availability in India or any other specific market.

Contents

What changed

The defining change is the use of a matte, anti-glare screen rather than a conventional glossy tablet display. OPPO positions the Pad 5 Matte Display Edition for reading, handwriting, note-taking and media consumption, where reflections can interfere with viewing.

The display measures 12.1 inches diagonally and has a 7:5 aspect ratio, 284 pixels per inch and a stated peak brightness of 900 nits. It supports a maximum refresh rate of 120Hz, with four adaptive modes: 30Hz, 60Hz, 90Hz and 120Hz.

A refresh rate is the number of times per second a display can update its image. Adaptive refresh systems can switch between supported rates depending on content or software, potentially balancing smooth motion with power consumption. OPPO notes that 120Hz operation is available only with certain apps.

The tablet is listed in Aurora Pink and Starlight Black.

How the matte display works

A matte or anti-glare display uses a surface treatment that diffuses incoming light instead of producing a strong mirror-like reflection. It can make reflections less visually distracting, but it does not eliminate them in every environment: perceived glare still depends on ambient lighting, viewing angle and the display surface.

OPPO claims that the panel reduces glare by 97% and harmful blue light by 70%. Those figures come from OPPO Labs testing and comparisons with an OPPO standard display. The glare test simulated an outdoor unobstructed environment, and OPPO says actual results can vary with conditions.

The company also lists TÜV Rheinland Reflection Free and Intelligent Eye Care 4.0 certifications. These certifications and the manufacturer’s tests describe display characteristics; the supplied product information does not establish independent clinical benefits or show that the screen is universally safer or more comfortable for users.

Stylus and AI-assisted productivity

The Pad 5 Matte Display Edition supports the OPPO Pencil 2R. OPPO says the active stylus provides 4,096 pressure-sensitivity levels and low latency. Pressure sensitivity allows compatible software to vary marks or input according to how firmly the user presses.

OPPO also says that 10 minutes of charging can provide up to 12 hours of writing, while a full charge can provide up to 20 hours of note-taking in its tests. The supplied product information does not clarify whether the OPPO Pencil 2R is included with the tablet or sold separately.

The listed AI-assisted features include:

  • Circle to Note
  • AI Recording Summary
  • AI Summary
  • AI Writer
  • Handwriting Formula Calculation
  • Mind Map
  • AI Eraser

AI Recording Summary is described as transcribing speakers and condensing conversations into key takeaways. The other listed tools include summarisation, writing assistance, handwriting formula calculation, mind mapping and AI erasure.

These functions are software-dependent rather than inherent properties of the matte screen. OPPO says their performance and availability may depend on language, accent, recording environment, network conditions, software, hardware, regional laws, region and software updates. Some features may require an internet connection or account login. The company also notes that some interfaces and features shown on the product page are illustrative and may not be available at launch.

Battery, software and connectivity

The tablet has a 10,050mAh typical-equivalent battery and supports 33W SUPERVOOC charging. OPPO reports up to 53 hours of online music playback, 15 hours of online video playback and six hours of heavy gaming in its tests.

These are manufacturer or OPPO Labs results, not guaranteed real-world runtimes. Battery life can change with display brightness, resolution, network conditions, applications, software version, device age and usage patterns.

The tablet runs ColorOS 16 for Pad. OPPO says it has TÜV SÜD 48-month Class A fluency certification. The associated qualification is based on OPPO laboratory fluency testing; it does not mean the tablet will never experience lag.

The product page also describes cross-device functions involving OPPO devices, iPhone or iPad, Android phones and Mac or Windows PCs. These features may depend on O+ Connect, Quick Share, particular applications, operating-system versions, accounts and compatible hardware.

The supplied product information identifies Wi-Fi and 5G specification tabs, but does not provide the detailed wireless hardware configurations.

What the product page does not establish

OPPO’s listing confirms the product name and the main display, battery, software and feature claims, but several important details remain unspecified.

The page text supplied for this article does not state:

  • a price;
  • an announcement, launch or sales date;
  • availability in India or another specific market;
  • the processor;
  • RAM or storage configurations;
  • camera specifications;
  • dimensions or weight;
  • charging-port specifications;
  • detailed Wi-Fi or 5G configurations;
  • whether the OPPO Pencil 2R is included.

The display, battery, stylus and fluency figures should therefore be read as manufacturer or laboratory claims with the stated test conditions and limitations. Regional AI availability and final launch software may also differ; whether the OPPO Pencil 2R is included remains unconfirmed. Further regional product information will be needed to establish pricing, availability and the complete hardware specification.

Sources