Summary

Sunwoda says its mass-produced flash-charging battery can reach 80% state of charge in 10 minutes. The company also lists claims for low-temperature performance, safety and a one-million-kilometre lifespan.

Sunwoda says its power-battery business includes a mass-produced “flash-charging” battery capable of reaching 80% state of charge (SOC) in 10 minutes. The claim appears on the company’s official power-technology page, which presents the battery as a solution for passenger cars and other transport applications.

SOC is the battery’s estimated charge level relative to its usable capacity. Reaching 80% rather than 100% is significant for fast charging because charging commonly slows as a battery approaches full capacity. In practical use, a short high-power charging session that restores most of a vehicle’s usable range could make electric-car charging more compatible with brief stops.

The charging claim

Sunwoda describes the product as the “world’s first mass-produced flash-charging battery” to reach 80% SOC in 10 minutes. That “first” designation is the company’s wording. The page does not identify a battery model, vehicle, charging-power rating, pack capacity or test procedure, so the 10-minute figure is best understood as a company-stated technology specification rather than a result independently assessed in this source.

The real-world charging time for an electric vehicle depends on factors including the charger, the battery pack, temperature, starting SOC and the vehicle’s charging controls. Those details are not provided on the page. It also does not state when a vehicle using this battery will be available or identify a specific production programme.

Other performance targets listed by Sunwoda

Sunwoda presents the battery as having five layers of safety design and says it is supported by 367 safety-related patents. The company describes the battery as fire- and explosion-proof under extreme conditions. These are manufacturer claims about the design and its intended performance.

The page also states that the battery retains more than 90% of its capacity at −20°C, a specification aimed at maintaining performance in cold conditions. Capacity retention describes how much of the battery’s rated capacity remains available at a given temperature; it is distinct from charging speed and does not by itself specify the vehicle’s driving range.

For durability, Sunwoda gives the battery a claimed lifespan of one million kilometres, which it equates to more than 20 years of normal use for a private car. The source does not provide the cycling protocol, operating conditions or definition of “normal use” behind that comparison.

Sunwoda identifies itself as a lithium-ion battery company supplying cells, modules, battery-management systems and pack systems. Its public technology page therefore indicates the performance targets the company associates with its power-battery portfolio, while vehicle-level availability and detailed validation conditions are not specified in the supplied material.

Sources